Go to Content



La Valse

National Premiere





This time the starting point is an orchestral piece by Maurice Ravel that was presented for the first time in Paris, in 1920, but was only chosen for a dance performance in 1928, when Bronislava Nijinska (Vaslav Nijinsky’s sister) created a one-act piece using the theme “La Valse”. I employ both the orchestral version and the piano version of that work by Belgian pianist Guy Vandromme. Based on Viennese waltzes (and this performance includes other waltzes), Ravel’s piece was always present in my previous works, used during rehearsals, but never making it to the final performance. I started collaborating with pianist Guy Vandromme in 2006, in Brussels, in the performance “Sacre – The Rite of Spring” at Kaaitheater. The process was also shared with the dancers chosen for that moment, and Luca Giacomo Schulte joined me in this true adventure.
— Raimund Hoghe, January 2016 

RAIMUND HOGHE • Born in Wuppertal, Raimund Hoghe is currently based in Düsseldorf. He started his career as a journalist and author, and later worked as a dramatist for choreographer Pina Bausch for a decade, from 1980 to 1990. He has been developing his artistic work since 1989, and has collaborated with visual artist Luca Giacomo Schulte since 1992. He began performing in his own performances as of 1994, and has since started touring the world with them.

© Rosa Frank

Info sobre horário e bilhetes




RivoliGrand Auditorium


Aditional info

  • 10,00EUR • 12YRS+ 

Author's bio text

Ficha Técnica

  • Concept, choreography and set design Raimund Hoghe
    Artistic collaborator Luca Giacomo Schulte
    Performers Marion Ballester, Ji Hye Chung, Emmanuel Eggermont, Raimund Hoghe, Luca Giacomo Schulte, Takashi Ueno and the invited artist Ornella Balestra
    Piano Guy Vandromme
    Lighting Raimund Hoghe, Amaury Seval
    Sound Nicolás Kretz
    Photography Rosa Frank
    Administration Mathieu Hillereau, Les Indépendances
    Music performed by Leonard Bernstein, Ferenc Fricsay, Joseph Schmidt, Fritzi Massary, Herbert von Karajan, Erich Kleiber, Erna Sack, Teresa Stratas, Josephine Baker, Juliette Gréco, Vera Lynn, Patti Page, Colin Farrell, Françoise Hardy, Hélène Grimaud, Rod Stewart, Audrey Hepburn, Odetta and Guy Vandromme
    Produced by Raimund Hoghe – Hoghe & Schulte (Düsseldorf)
    With the support of Ministry of Culture and Science of North Rhine-Westphalia, Kunststiftung NRW, Secretariat of Culture of the Provincial Capital Düsseldorf and Franco-German Transfabrik Fund for the living arts
    Special support: Teatro Municipal do Porto (PT), National contemporary dance centre of Angers (FR), La ménagerie de verre (Paris, FR) under the auspices of Studiolab, and tanzhaus nrw of Düsseldorf (DE)
    Special acknowledgement: agnès b. Paris

    Approximate length 180 minutes (with intermission) 

Join our newsletter and get the news from TMP.